Fall 2016

Qualifying Exams

Abhishek Kumar
August 26, 11:00am in 2205 NPB
"Electron-electron interaction in spin-orbit coupled systems"
Chair: Dmitrii Maslov

Zach Bush
September 20, 11:00am in 2165 NPB
"Heterodyne Detection Scheme for the Any Light Particle Search Experiment"
Chair: Guido Mueller

Sankha Subhra Chakrabarty
October 4, 9:45am in 2165 NPB
"Observable effects of a passing caustic ring on the motion of stars in the solar neighborhood"
Chair: Pierre Sikivie

Ankita Sarkar
October 17, 10:00am in 2205 NPB
"pH-dependent Conformational Reorganization due to Ionizable Residues in a Hydrophobic Protein Interior"
Chair: Adrian Roitberg

Sean-Jiun Wang
November 1, 10:30am in 2260 NPB
"Search for the Standard Model Higgs Boson Decay to Bottom Quarks in the Z(vv)H(bb) Channel"
Chair: Jacobo Konigsberg
Co-Chair: Ivan Furic

Shinjini Basu
November 8, 2:00pm in 2165 NPB
"Formalizing Cosmological Quantum Field Theory"
Chair: Richard Woodard

Xiaochen Zhu
November 16, 8:30am in 2165 NPB
"Van der Waals contacts between layered charge density wave materials and traditional semiconductors"
Chair: Art Hebard

Yaqi Han
November 30, 1:30p in 2165 NPB
“Numerical simulation of axially symmetric self-similar infall”
Chair: Pierre Sikivie

Final Exams

Darsa Donelan
August 26, 3:00pm in 2165 NPB
"The Effects of Atmospheric Gravity Waves on the Atmosphere of Titan"
Chair: Katia Matcheva

Chang Long
October 26, 2:00pm in 2260 NPB
"Optical properties of metallic 2-D and 3-D terahertz metamaterials"
Chair: David Tanner

Jihee Yang
November 3, 1:55pm in 2260 NPB
"Growth and Decay of Quantum Turbulence in Superfluid Liquid Helium above 1K"
Chair: Gary Ihas

Chad Hopkins
November 4, 9:30am in 2205 NPB
“Optimization of Computational Chemistry Techniques”
Chair: Adrian Roitberg

Brian Hare
November 4, 2:00pm in 2205 NPB
"Relationship of Terrestrial Gamma Ray Flashes and Cosmic Ray Air Showers to Natural and Triggered Lightning"
Chair: Katia Matcheva

Luyi Yan
November 15, 9:00am in 2165 NPB
"Optical properties of cuprate superconductors"
Chair: David Tanner

Ilaria Pucher
November 18, 2:00pm in 2165 NPB
"Electrodes for water splitting electrolyzer and Li-air batteries"
Chair: Andrew Rinzler