SPRING 2011

Qualifying Exams


Zahra Nasrollahi
Monday, February 14, 9:00am in 2260 NPB
"Spectroscopic studies of polymers in transmissive/ absorptive electrochromic devices, and doped graphite"
Chair: David Tanner

Pedro J. Mora
Tuesday, February 15, 2:00pm in 2165 NPB
"Graviton contributions to the graviton self-energy at one loop order during inflation"
Chair: Richard Woodard

Qiaoli Yang
Wednesday, February 23, 4:00pm in 2205 NPB
"Bose-Einstein Condensation of Dark Matter Axion"
Chair: Pierre Sikivie

Yibing Tang
Thursday, March 3, 12:00pm in 2205 NPB
"NMR Study of Quantum Dynamics of 3He in Two Dimensions"
Chair: Neil Sullivan

Elisabeth Knowles (rescheduled)
Thursday, March 31, 1:00pm in 2260 NPB
"Interface Morphology in Heterostructures of Prussian Blue Analogs"
Chair: Mark Meisel

Wenya Wang
Wednesday, April 6, 10:40am in 2165 NPB
"The coexistence state of superconductivity and spin density waves in cuprates and iron pnictides"
Chair: Peter Hirschfeld

Minjun Son
Thursday, April 7, 1:30pm in 2205 NPB
"Studying the Competence Circuit of /Streptococcus Mutans/ Through Microfluidics"
Chair: Stephen Hagen

Po-Hsiang Wang
Thursday, April 21, 1:00pm in 2205 NPB
"CN-VFET based organic nonvolatile memory elements using a floating gate"
Chair: Andrew Rinzler

Luis Colon-Perez
Friday, April 22, 3:00pm in 2205 NPB
"Brain Networks using Diffusion Weighted Imaging"
Chair: Tom Mareci

Iek-Heng Chu
Wednesday, April 27, 3:00pm in 2165 NPB
"Computational Studies of Excitation and Charge Transfer in Nanostructured Materials "
Chair: Hai-Ping Cheng

Ali Ashrafi
Monday, May 2, 10:40am in 2205 NPB
"Electron-Electron Interactions In Two-Dimensional Spin-Orbit Coupled Systems"
Chair: Dmitrii Maslov


Final Exams


Yiliang Bao
Monday, January 10, 9:00am in 2165 NPB
"The Casimir Force on Nanostructured Surfaces: Geometry and Finite Conductivity Effects"
Chair: Ho Bun Chan

Younghak Kim
Monday, February 21, 10:00 am in 2260 NPB
"Phase Transitions, Thermodynamics, and Magnetism of the Low-Dimensional Antiferromagnets Cr(diethylenetriamine)(O2)2H2O and (CH3)2CHNH3CuCl3"
Chair: Yasumasa Takano

Pooja Wadhwa
Thursday, March 3, 11:00am in 2165 NPB
"Nanoscale Materials in Novel Solar Cell Designs"
Chair: Andrew Rinzler

Rajib Das
Wednesday, March 30, 3:30pm in 2205 NPB
"Enhanced Utility of Carbon Nanotube Film-Morphology, Doping, Electrocatalysis and Energy Applications"
Chair: Andrew Rinzler

Changhyun Koo
Thursday, March 31, 3:00pm in 2228 NPB
"High Frequency-Electron Paramagnetic Resonance Studies on Anisotropy of Molecular Magnets and Spin Dimer Compound"
Chair: David Tanner

Andrew Hill
Thursday, March 31, in BEN 328 at 1:55pm
"Effects of Helium Recombination in the Early Universe"
Chair: James Fry

Myeonghun Park
Friday, April 1, 1:00pm in 2165 NPB
"Model Independent particle mass masurements in missing energy events at hadron colliders"
Chair: Konstantin Matchev

Chris Pankow
Tuesday, April 5, 10:00am in 2165 NPB
"Search for Gravitational Waves from Intermediate Mass Black Hole Binaries"
Chair: Sergey Klimenko Co-Chair: Guenakh Mitselmakher

Daniel Barrow
Wednesday, April 6, 3:00pm in 2165 NPB
"Atmospheric Gravity Waves in the Stratosphere of Mars and the Ionospheres of Jupiter and Saturn"
Chair: Katia Matcheva

Vivek Mishra
Friday, April 8, 3:00pm in 2205 NPB
"Fluctuation, Disorder and Inhomogeneity in Unconventional Superconductors"
Chair: Peter Hirschfeld

Yinan Yu
Monday, April 11, 9:30am in 2165 NPB
"Arm locking for Laser Interferometer Space Antenna"
Chair: Guido Mueller

Hyoung Jeen Jeen
Thursday, April 14, 12:00pm in 2205 NPB
"Magnetoelectric Effects in Manganites"
Chair: Amlan Biswas