PHY 2054 - Physics II - Summer C 2016


COURSE SCHEDULE

*subject to change


Date Day Event Lecturer (Nartowt=BJN, Tam=GNT), Course Material
May 10 Tue Lecture 1 BJN: Introduction, crash course in vector-algebra. Electric Charge, Coulomb's Law, and Electric Fields
May 12 Thu Lecture 2 BJN: Chap. 16.5-7: Electric Flux and Gauss' Law
May 15 Sunday Homework HW 0 (practice, worth 0%) due 9:00 PM
May 16 Monday Homework HW 1 due 9:00 PM
May 17 Tue Lecture 3 GNT: Chap. 17.1-3: Electric Potential and Electric Potential Energy
May 19 Thu Lecture 4 GNT: Chap. 17.4-7: Conservation of Energy, Capacitors, and Dielectrics
May 21 Saturday Homework HW 2 due 9:00 PM
May 24 Tue Lecture 5 BJN: Chap. 18.1-4: Currents, EMF, and Resistors
May 26 Thu Lecture 6 BJN: Chap. 18.5-10: Resistance, Series and Parallel Circuits, Measuring Devices and RC Circuits
May 29 Sunday Homework HW 3 due 9:00 PM
May 31 Tuesday Exam I Ch. 16-18
June 2 Thursday Lecture 7 GNT: Chap. 19.1-10: Magnets, Magnetic Fields, Magnetic Force on Charged Particles, Magnetic Force on Current-Carrying Wire, Magnetic Torque on Current-Carrying Wire, Ampere's Law
June 5 Sunday Homework HW 4 due 9:00 PM
June 7 Tue Lecture 8 BJN: Chap. 20.1-20.4: Induction, Motional EMF, Faraday's Law, and Lenz's Law
June 9 Thu Lecture 9 BJN: Chap. 20.5-20.10: Transformers, Inductance, and LR Circuits
June 12 Sunday Homework HW 5 due 9:00 PM
June 14 Tue Lecture 10 GNT: Chap. 21.1-6: AC Circuits, reactance, impedance, resonance
June 16 Thu Lecture 11 GNT: Chap. 21.1-6: AC Circuits, reactance, impedance, resonance
June 19 Sunday Homework HW 6 due 9:00 PM
June 21 Tue Holiday Summer Break
June 23 Thurs Holiday Summer Break
June 28 Tuesday Exam II Ch. 19-21
June 30 Thu Lecture 12 BJN: Chap. 22.1-22.7: Electromagnetic waves: dispersion, amplitude, refraction-indices, energy-transport, and polarization
July 3 Sunday Homework HW 7 due 9:00 PM
July 4 Independence Day! *** ***********************
July 5 Tues Lecture 13 GNT: Chap. 23: Light, Reflection, Refraction, Polarization, and Total Internal Reflection
July 7 Thurs Lecture 14 GNT: Chap. 23: Plane Mirrors, Spherical Mirrors, Thin Lenses, and (Linear) Magnification
July 10 Sunday Homework HW 8 due 9:00 PM
July 12 Tues Lecture 15 BJN: Chap. 24: Optical instruments - Lenses in series, cameras, the human eye as a thin-lens, angular magnification (vs. linear magnification)
July 14 Thurs Lecture 16 BJN: Chap. 24: The compound-microscope as a 2-lens system, and telescopes for large object-distance.
July 17 Sunday Homework HW 9 due 9:00 PM
July 19 Tuesday Exam III Ch. 22-24
July 21 Thurs Lecture 17 GNT: Chap. 25: Interference, Thin Films, and Double Slit Interference, Gratings, Diffraction, and Resolution
July 24 Sunday Homework HW 10 due 9:00 PM
July 26 Tues Lecture 18 BJN: Chap. 20, 21: Comprehensive problems in induction, and AC circuitry presented by HITT.
July 28 Thurs Lecture 19 BJN: Chap. 22, 24: Comprehensive problems in EM-waves, and optical instruments presented by HITT.
July 28, 8:30 PM Thursday Make-up Exam Ch. 19-25
Aug 2 Tues Lecture 20 GNT: Chap. 19, 23, 25: Comprehensive problems in magnetism, optics, and interference presented by HITT.
Aug 3 Wednesday Homework B1, B2 due 9:00 PM (probably better to complete earlier).
Aug 4 Tuesday Final Exam Ch. 16-25
Aug 6 Saturday Commencement Ch. n/a