The Department of Physics at the University of Florida has been working to become one of the premier physics departments in the United States. From a small department with 22 faculty members in 1979, we have grown to more than 50 faculty members. The department moved into a new, 225,000 sq. ft., building in January 1998. The building includes laboratory and teaching space designed specifically for the purpose.

The growth has broadened and strengthened the research interests of the department. We have active groups in astrophysics, biological physics, condensed matter physics, and elementary particle physics. Our faculty are internationally renowned in their areas of expertise at the various frontiers of physics and are recipients of numerous awards and honors.

The UF physics department operates the National High Magnetic Field Laboratory together with Florida State University, and Los Alamos National Laboratory, opening new research avenues for the exploration of new emerging materials and technologies. Members of the Department are also involved in many national, multi- institutional programs, such as the Laser Interferometric Gravitational Wave Observatory (LIGO), and high energy physics experiments conducted at Fermilab, and CERN. Members of the faculty are spokesmen both of LIGO and the CDF experiment at Fermilab, as well as playing leadership roles in the CMS experiment at CERN. The Institute for Fundamental Theory and the Quantum Theory Project provide the infrastructure needed to foster cross-disciplinary research among the theorists in our department. Please take a moment to browse through our web pages and thanks for visiting!