Peter Hirschfeld wins SEC Faculty Achievement Award

Prof. Peter Hirschfeld has been announced as the University of Florida recipient of the 2014 SEC Faculty Achievement Award, which comes with an honorarium and entry as the university's nominee for SEC Professor of the Year (to be announced later in the month). Congratulations Peter!

UF Graduate Student Teaching Award Recipient

Congratulations to Tim Schlittenhardt on winning the UF-wide Graduate Student Teaching Award! According the UF Graduate School website, the award is given annually to "the best, brightest, and most industrious of the University of Florida’s graduate teaching assistants for their work as instructors in the classroom and laboratory." The (two-stage) competition is tough and the number of recipients is less than 20 (to put this number in perspective, recall that UF has more than 16,000 graduate and professional students).

When not teaching, Tim is working on several projects in theoretical condensed matter physics with Prof. Selman Hershfield who, perhaps not coincidentally, is a recipient of the 2013 UF Teaching Award. Anyone who had Tim in his/her class as a student knows that Tim possesses a miraculous ability of producing LaTeXed lecture notes "in vivo".


Congratulations to the following undergraduate physics majors who were elected to Phi Beta Kappa. This is quite an honor, there are only 284 electees at UF in spring 2014.
Kevin J. Montes
Zane Jawdet Rubaii
Brandon Leigh Allen
Kyle Johnson Dorsey
Victor Wong

Congratulations to Pierre Sikivie who is among 143 scientists recognized by the American Physical Society in its 2014 class of Outstanding Referees. Outstanding Referees are selected "based on the quality, number, and timeliness of their reports" from among the roughly 60,000 currently active reviewers for APS journals.


UF Physics on Twitter
Physics News Archive
Physics Weather


Listed alphabetically
Listed by advisor
Listed by year


Physics Colloquium
Female Physics Forum
Seminars & Events Calendar
Department Room Schedules
New Faculty search