Award of new DOE Energy Frontier Research Center

July 2018


A proposal led by University of Florida Physics professor, Hai-Ping Cheng, to establish the Center for Molecular Magnetic Quantum Materials, a DOE Energy Frontier Research Center, has been approved for funding at the level of $10.5M over four years. The center involves UF faculty in Physics (Hai-Ping Cheng, Art Hebard, Neil Sullivan, Samuel Trickey, Xiaoguang Zhang), Chemistry (George Christou, John Stanton), and Materials Science & Engineering (Richard Hennig), as well as collaborators at Caltech, the NHMFL (Florida State and Los Alamos National Lab), and the University of Central Florida.


The Department of Energy awarded 42 new EFRCs as a result of its 2018 solicitation. The Center for Molecular Magnetic Quantum Materials is the only one led by an institution in Florida and one of only five from the entire Southeast.