Home » Undergraduate Program » Undergraduate Awards

Undergraduate Awards

Garrett Endowment for Physics Education

This fund was established by Gene A. and Richard E. Garrett. The fund provides travel awards as well as need-based scholarships for UF Physics majors. Dr. Richard Garrett joined the UF Physics faculty in 1963 and was professor and associate chair from 1974 until his retirement.

David R. Griggs Award

This award fund was established by UF alumnus Dr. David R. Griggs.  The award is given annually, on the basis of merit, to recognize an outstanding undergraduate researcher in the Physics Department.

William Oegerle Scholarship in Physics and Astronomy

This fund is named after UF alumnus Dr. William Oegerle. It provides support for undergraduate students who show exceptional promise in conducting research in physics and/or astronomy. The awardee carries out a research project under the guidance of a faculty member in the Department of Physics or Astronomy.  Support can include tuition, books, computers, and travel to professional meetings to present research findings.

Ruth & Earl Sawyer Fund

This fund was established in 1971 by Earl M. and Ruth B. Sawyer, who were both UF alumni.  Dr. Sawyer retired as a Professor Emeritus from the university, while Mrs. Sawyer worked for the Alachua County School Board.  The fund provides academic awards to recognize outstanding undergraduate students majoring in Physics.

Chris B. Schaffer Physics Undergraduate Research Fund

This fund was established by Prof. Chris B. Schaffer, who was a UF alumnus and winner of the 1996 Apker Award of the American Physical Society. The fund provides support for undergraduate student research in the Physics Department.

Visit the undergraduate majors Canvas page for further information about any of these awards.